REVIEW: falling into place by amy zhang

31 October 2014


TITLE: Falling Into Place // AUTHOR: Amy Zhang // PUBLISHER: Harper 360       
 On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.
Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher. -goodreads
Liz Emerson is not the kind of MC reader's connect with, sympathize with, or feel compatible in any way towards, so it was with Surprise that I closed this book, sat back and though: I enjoyed that. I'm don't often read *stereotypical* contemporaries, and while this did contain bundles of cliches, I enjoyed Falling Into Place because of its lyrical and stripped back writing style. The side-characters could have been explored a lot more in my opinion, as we are left not really know much about them except for their problems. And everyone has problems in this book, which annoyed me at first but as I got swept into the writing I didn't mind anymore. Overall, the book was a very worthy debut indeed - and I am extremely jealous the author is a teenager and already has a published, bestselling book. Give it a try why don't you.

8 comments:

  1. I love the sound of this one. I really want to read it. Ahhhhhhh I want it xD

    ReplyDelete
  2. This book sounds pretty awesome, I've heard some amazing things. Glad to hear you enjoyed it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I heard many amazing things about it before I read it too!

      Delete
  3. This really intrigues me. And, what?! The author is a teenager?! GO HER!!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Did you make that cover-graphic-thingie at the beginning? Because it's GORGEOUS AND I LOVE IT. This book is so darn quotable. It totally is. I adore it so much. OH. And the really bare-bones writing style was my favourite. I didn't really like Liz, but I think that was the point. I wished the narrator had been more of a big deal, though.
    Gah. The author is too stinkin' talented, right?! ;)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yess I did and RIGHT, I COULDN'T PICK A FAVE! Same same, but as you said that was the point and it made it more powerful and ahhh<3
      I AGREE about the narrator thing too. :)

      Delete

+ thank you so much for commenting, I really appreciate it
+ recheck, I always try to reply [honest!]