book palette || the sky is everywhere

16 August 2014

A new feature! Exciting! I hope! What do you think of the name?! [Enough exclamations now?] [Ok.] This feature was inspired by Elena and Jen's features [Arts and Crafts] and [The Writings on the Wall] and in it, I am going to be highlighting a book I loved, creating a desktop wallpaper from it, and sharing the colour palette of the versions of the covers I like the most, and the colour palette of how I feel the book is represented to me in my mind. [If that doesn't make sense I'm not surprised, I'm terrible at explaining things but bear with me, and hopefully by the end of the post you'll get what I'm talking about!]. My first pick?
Summary: Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life—and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey's boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie's own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they're the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can't collide without the whole wide world exploding. This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie's struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable -goodreads
This book, I couldn't rave about it enough. I don't normally read a lot of romance novels but I do enjoy novels dealing with grief and coming to terms with a death. So when I read this I expected to enjoy it. I didn't. I loved it. Completely, utterly and totally. I feel for Joe Fontaine, for Lennie 'John Lennon' for Big and Gram, Sarah [FLYING HORSES AND GIRAFFES] and the Spotted House Plant. I wish I could write like Jandy Nelson. If you haven't read this yet then I honestly think you should, even if this doesn't sounds like your sort of thing, give it a try. What harm could it do? Other than have yourself another horde of characters to pine and obsess over. Usually, during this feature's post, I would share a colour palette of how I feel the book is represented in my mind, not based on the cover. However, I chose this version of the cover because the colour palette was so spot on to the overall feel of this book. So instead, I'm going to do a little colour palette for some of the characters in this book. Lennie Walker [the main character], affectionately called 'John Lennon' by,: Joe Fontaine; and Lennie's best friend: Sarah, one of my favourite characters.
I'm not going to tell you which three [consecutive] colours belong to which character, because what would be the fun of that? Read the book and try and guess for yourself...

17 comments:

  1. I LOVED THIS POST!! The Sky Is Everywhere is one of my favourite books EVER, and post just!!! You managed to sum up the characters really well using colours, and I applaud you for the amount of effort you put into this. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you and GOOD, IT SHOULD BE. Did you guess which was which? ;P

      Delete
  2. NEED TO READ THIS! LOVED THIS POST!
    WHY AM I DOING THIS IN CAPITALS?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You DO need to read it! AND THANK YOU!
      BECAUSE YOU'VE BEEN AROUND ME TOO LONG.

      Delete
  3. This was the first YA book I ever read! I was actually much too young for it (probably about 10?) and as a result didn't really enjoy it at the time... even so I still remember it quite vividly. Probably need to pick it up again after this review! damn my younger self for throwing out my beautiful hardback copy *shakes fist*

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I can't remember what the first YA book I ever read was! You have a good memory. :P ALANNAH JULIA HOW COULD YOU THROW OUT A HARDBACK OF THE SKY IS EVERYWHERE. Do you see this face? IT IS MAD.
      Re-read re-read re-read.

      Delete
  4. Why are your graphics so nice? Officially my new favorite feature that I will be following.

    Amelia @ YA Bookologists

    ReplyDelete
  5. I love these kind of posts! I honestly love the way you link colours to books...
    I should try the book sometimes; sounds good!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks! You should try it yourself some time, and YES, read the book!

      Delete
  6. OH I LOVE THIS.
    Haven't had the opportunity to read this one yet but I have to because I've heard nothing but good about this one. :)

    Looking forward to the next installment of this cool new feature.

    ReplyDelete
  7. OKAY. THIS IS CREEPY.

    I read this post an hour or so ago and thought 'this is similar to my new post' and I was about to comment that when I saw a new comment on my post. I looked it and YOU SAID EXACTLY THE SAME THING. Mind=blown

    But, anyway, I kinda love the idea of this feature! I haven't read The Sky is Everywhere but I saw it at my library a few months back but didn't pick it up because I wanted my own copy… now regretting it… :'(

    And, even though I haven't read it, I'm gonna guess the characters and colour combos (now watch me epically fail). Lennie=middle three. Joe=end three. Sarah=first three. AM I RIGHT? ;D

    PS. The desktop wallpaper is gorgeous. :')

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. MEHEHE I KNOW. I got your comment just as I sent mine. o_____O
      ARE OUR BRAINS CONNECTED?

      Thank you! and RUBY. What. I feel like you would love it, there's extra little notes and journal entries in the book which I ADORE. Just --- get it from the library and THEN BUY IT IF YOU LOVE IT WHICH YOU WILL DO.
      You got one right so not bad! ;)
      USE IT THEN. :P

      Delete
  8. Definitely an interesting feature, personally I love colours and I think this is a really unique way to portray characters/covers/books through colours because you can really identify feelings/emotions to colours.
    I have not read this book, but I have seen it pop up a few times, so I will definitely have to check it out!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you! you should try it some time. :)
      YES! Then tell me what you think.

      Delete
  9. 3 DAYS LATER BUT I AM COMMENTING LIKE I SAID I WOULD. MEHEHEHE.

    So that's why you were asking about it *facepalm* I can't remember if that's the one I chose but I hope it is because reasons. ;D This is such a good idea for a feature - you creative thing, you.
    The Sky is Everywhere is BEEEOOTIFUL. *happy sigh* I read about 5 years ago so I need to own it and read it again. Soon.
    Can't wait for the next book palette ^.^ <3

    ReplyDelete
  10. I've heard some good things about this book, glad to hear you enjoyed it! And this book palette thing you have going on? LOVE, so pretty and original!

    ReplyDelete

+ thank you so much for commenting, I really appreciate it
+ recheck, I always try to reply [honest!]