book review // siege and storm by leigh bardugo

02 June 2014

Series: The Grisha #2
Title: Siege and Storm
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Publisher: Indigo [imprint of Orion]
Publication Date: June 6th 2013
Pages: 386
Source // Format: For Review, Paperback
Summary: Darkness never dies. Alina and Mal are on the run. Hunted and haunted, but together at last, they can't outrun Alina's past or her destiny forever. The Darkling has emerged from the Shadow Fold with a terrifying new power and he needs Alina to realise his dangerous plan. There are others who would like to use Alina's gift too. And as her power grows, somehow, she must choose between her country, her power, and her love - or risk losing everything to the oncoming storm. Glorious. Epic. Irresistible. Romance. Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and Laini Taylor.-goodreads
Is Leigh Bardugo a secret Sun Summoner? Because she has managed to dispel the darkness that is the Second Book Syndrome with an ease that rivals Alina's. Siege and Storm, while not as crisp as the first novel was breathtaking in it's development of plot and character and all i can say is i am in love. If you haven't read this series, you need to now: it delivers action, emotion and humour with a unique zest that lingers in your mind long after you have read the last pages; in short, it is un-putdownable. 
The introduction of some new characters [who have quickly become some of my favorites] made this book all the more thrilling, and also supplied a lot more comic moments than the first which i appreciated a lot. I mean, Sturmhound - you're never going to meet someone *quite* like him. All in all, i cannot recommend this book enough and if you read it, you'll know why too. So grab a cape and dive in - but first make sure to flourish it. [that feeling can't be beat.] Siege and Storm is an undeniable page-turner, complete with epic battles, obstacles that never fail to appear wherever you look, cliffhangers and tender moments; this book stayed with me long after i had finished it - I absolutely cannot wait for the final adventure! 

1 comment:

  1. I have seen a lot of this series and have been meaning to read the first book. This is a great reminder to see if I ever officially added it to my TBR.
    -Flirting with Fiction

    ReplyDelete

+ thank you so much for commenting, I really appreciate it
+ recheck, I always try to reply [honest!]