REVIEW: The Night Sky In My Head by Sarah Hammond

16 July 2012

Here's A recent Review I Did For Chicklish. The Review Of This Book On Chicklish.


Step backwards. Witness the murder. Find the truth.
Mikey Baxter isn't like other fourteen year old boys. Not since the accident.
The world sees him as damaged. But Mikey has a remarkable gift: the ability to go backwards in time and witness things that hide in the shadows.
Now he must uncover the terrifying truth behind his dad's disappearance. Before the past starts to repeat itself . . .

I had not heard anything about this book when Luisa Plaja asked me if I would like to review it. I agreed at once (who refuses a book??!) and immediately searched it on goodreads. It sparked my curiosity at once although I was a bit wary ofwhether I would enjoy it or not as it said ‘’The Perfect Read for Fans of Skellig and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time.” I have read Skellig but I had to force myself to as in all honesty, I found it a bit weird and the same with The Curious Incident of The Dog in The Night Time. I have tried numerous times to finish it but I just couldn’t!
I needn’t have worried.
The plot was perfect and the Backwards was amazing once I got to know what it was. Imagine being able to see into the past? It sounds amazing right? Well, not for Mikey. A terrible accident causes him to be able to see into the past but he hates it, especially as there are many demons lurking in the shadows that unravel more of past than he would like...But now he has a weapon to use against them, the power of truth. Can he use his remarkable gift to save the day and free his dad from an unjust guilt? Or will unseen enemies bar his way?

I loved Mikey, he was so innocent and friendly, trusting – although that was sometimes a bad thing. Although at the beginning I couldn’t seem to be able to get into the book, I didn’t feel as if I was able to connect with the characters and the beginning didn’t seem to be able to reel me in. As the story carried on though I was able to understand and connect with the characters and I especially loved Timmer – Mikey’s dog – always there to protect him, and later on Meg; a good friend who was there for him when he needed her and always giving him good advice. Dave, although talked about very little was a strong character who is shown in a positive light at the end.
The writing was simple, yet was able to bring out strong emotions at the same time. But although I decided in the end that I liked this book. There was something that I didn’t.

At a first glance I thought this book would be suitable for ages nine and above but when I started reading it I saw that I was wrong. Although there was no complicated language; everything was easy to understand and imagine, there was a lot of swearing in it which I disliked immensely.
So if you are allowed to read The Curious Incident of the Dog In The Night Time and do not mind books with swearing in then this book is the one for you. I still haven’t decided whether I myself enjoyed the book or not although I loved the ending...but don’t let that stop you, that’s just my opinion!

Don't Forget To Smile!! :D xxx

2 comments:

  1. Great review! This looks amazing, but books with a lot of swearing annoys me too. I mean, sometimes it's just not necessary! The cover's cool though ;D thanks for posting x

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm suprised it has swearing as the cover looks kinda child friendly! Great review.

    xxx

    ReplyDelete

+ thank you so much for commenting, I really appreciate it
+ recheck, I always try to reply [honest!]